Fruit of the Spirit

Live by the Spirit.
—Galatians 5:16

Here is Paul’s formula for spiritual growth: “Live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.”

A paragraph later he offers this “Fruit of the Spirit” bouquet of nine qualities: “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control” (Gal. 5:22-23).

Here is how they are tagged in various translations …

Love (affection for others);
Joy (gladness, exuberance about life);
Peace (serenity);
Patience (forbearance, longsuffering, an even temper);
Kindness (compassion, good will);
Goodness (benevolence, generosity, well-doing);
Faithfulness (fidelity);
Gentleness (tolerance, meekness, humility);
Self-control (temperance, self-restraint).

Work on achieving those traits, but don’t judge yourself too harshly; you may not have the highest grade in the class, but you’re on your way.

Think growth, not perfection.

Scroll to Top