Four Levels of Love

As I have loved you,
so you must love one another.
            —John 13:34

Love for family and friends: spouse for spouse, parent for child, child for parent, friend for friend. Easy. And lovely.

Love for the less fortunate: the poor, the sick, the sorrowing, the suffering, the down-and-out.  Compassionate. And lovely.

Love for the more fortunate: those whose success surpasses ours; who have what we don’t and live where we can’t. Uncommon. And lovely.

Love for the enemy: those who inflict pain, who wish you harm. “Love your enemies and pray for anyone who mistreats you” (Matt. 5:44). Rare. And lovely.

Surrender to love.

Scroll to Top