What's on Your List?

Act justly . . . love mercy . . . walk humbly.
                             —Micah 6:8

Looking at “negatives,” the commonly listed “Seven Deadly Sins” are pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth.

Mahatma Gandi’s list of “Seven Deadly Sins” was wealth without work, pleasure without conscience, knowledge without character, commerce without morality, science without humanity, worship without sacrifice, and politics without principle.

Then there’s the list of seven things God hates: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies, and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers (Prv 6:16–19)

Looking at “positives,” Paul’s list had nine: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control (Gal 5:22–23).

Micah’s “positive” list consisted of just three: justice, mercy, and humility (Mi 6:8).

The best to-do list
is a be-like-this list.

Scroll to Top